Key Technology

 

    Since ultraviolet (UV) radiation has a strong impact on both organic and inorganic materials, it has extensive applications in the fields of industry, agriculture, medicine and health, and environment monitoring, which gives rise to a huge market of UV sensors and related application products. To meet the urgent demand for high-end UV sensing applications, GaNo Optoelectronics has been developing and producing high-performance UV sensors based on a new generation electronic material C wide bandgap semiconductors.

    Currently, based on the bandgap energy of semiconductor materials used, semiconductor UV sensors can be divided into two major categories: one is photodiode made with conventional semiconductor materials (such as Si, GaAs and InP), while the other is photodiode made with wide-bandgap semiconductors (such as GaN and SiC). The former category has already been technically mature. Nevertheless, since the bandgap of the semiconductor used is relatively narrow, the peak response of the corresponding sensors is usually within the visible wavelength region. Therefore, to make these sensors selectively work in UV wavelength region, additional optical filters have to be added, which are specially designed and very expensive. Since the intensity of visible light of solar radiation reaching the ground is over 104 times stronger that of UV light, the aforementioned filter requires a high rejection ratio, and is thus very difficult to manufacture. Besides, while filtering out the high-intensity visible light, the filter would also filter out a considerable amount of UV light to be detected, resulting in a greatly reduced quantum efficiency of the UV sensing system. In comparison, the photodiode technology based on wide-bandgap semiconductors developed by GaNo Optoelectronics can effectively solve the above problem.

    Wide-bandgap semiconductors represented by SiC and group-III nitrides are new generation semiconductor materials and have become the focus of research and development worldwide in recent years. These semiconductors exhibit large bandgap energy, high thermal conductivity, high electron saturation velocity, and excellent chemical stability. Due to these outstanding material properties, wide bandgap semiconductors have key applications for high-frequency, high-power, and high thermal resistant devices as well as high efficiency optical sensing devices working in UV wavelength band. Among them, 4H-SiC semiconductor has a bandgap energy of 3.23 eV and is an ideal material for making visible-blind UV sensors (with a cutoff wavelength400 nm). On the other hand, by varying Al content, the bandgap energy of AlGaN within group-III nitride system can continuously change from 3.4 to 6.2 eV. The corresponding wavelength range of optical response is 200-365nm, which covers the solar-blind wavelength region (240-280nm) caused by the ozonosphere absorption. Thus, AlGaN is suitable for making new generation solar-blind deep UV sensors (see the following figure). Compared with conventional Si-based UV sensors, the UV sensors based on wide-bandgap semiconductors have the following advantages: 1. higher sensitivity in UV wavelength region; 2. visible blind or solar blind operation without a filter; 3. reliable operation in harsh environment such as high temperature and intense radiation.

 


 
Fig. Bandgap energy and cutoff wavelength of main semiconductor materials

技术介绍

由于紫外辐射对有机体与无机体都有强烈的影响,因而在工业、农业、医药卫生、以及环境监测领域有着广泛的应用,相应地也催生了庞大的紫外线传感器件及其应用产品市场。面向高端紫外传感应用的迫切需求,镓芯光电主要研发和生长基于新一代宽带半导体材料的高性能紫外光传感器。

目前,按照所使用半导体材料禁带宽度的不同,半导体紫外传感器件可分为两大类:一类是基于常规半导体材料(如:SiGaAsInP等)的光电二极管,另一类则是基于新型宽禁带半导体(如:GaNSiC等)的光电二极管。基于常规半导体材料的光电二极管技术已经较为成熟,但由于这些半导体材料的禁带宽度比较小,所对应探测器的响应截止边一般都位于可见光波段。因此,要想使这些光电二极管有选择性地工作在紫外波段,则需要在这些探测器上加装特殊设计的、价格很贵的滤波片(filter)。由于太阳光到达地面的辐射中,可见光是普通紫外光(365 nm)强度的104倍以上,上述提到的滤波片需要具有很高的抑制比,制作难度较高。此外,这些滤波片在过滤掉高强度可见光的同时,还会滤掉相当部分需要探测的紫外光,导致加装滤波片的紫外探测系统量子效率大为降低。相比之下,镓芯光电所开发的基于新型宽禁带半导体的光电二极管技术恰恰可以有效解决以上问题。

以碳化硅(SiC)和III族氮化物为代表的宽禁带半导体是近年来国内外重点研究和发展的新型半导体材料,具有禁带宽度大、导热性能好、电子饱和漂移速度高以及化学稳定性优等特点,用于耐高温、高效能的高频大功率器件以及工作于紫外波段的光探测器件,具有显著的材料性能优势。其中SiC材料体系中的4H-SiC半导体,其禁带宽度为3.23 eV,是制备可见光盲紫外探测器(响应边<400 nm)的优选材料;而III族氮化物体系的(Al)GaN材料,其带宽可随Al组分的变化在3.46.2 eV之间连续改变,对应光吸收波长变化范围为200~365 nm,覆盖了大气臭氧层吸收日盲区(240~280 nm),特别适合制备新一代的日盲深紫外探测器(见下图)。基于宽禁带半导体的光电传感器器与传统的硅基紫外传感器相比具有明显的优势。主要优点包括:1.更高的灵敏度;2.可直接实现可见光盲或日盲操作、无需加增滤光片;3.可在高温、强辐射等恶劣环境下工作。

 

图:主要半导体材料的禁带宽度与吸收边波长